My Letter To My Ex

“I want her to be happy, no matter what that means. I want her to find someone who will treat her with all the love she deserved from me. I want her to meet someone who will see her always as I do now, through Your eyes.”– Bruce Nolan, Bruce Almighty

Dear ex,

I am genuinely happy that today is your big day in front of the altar with the partner God has designed for you before time, and I am genuinely grateful that it’s not me. I am grateful not because you’re hard to handle (in fact, the whole world knows you’re lovable), but because God answered my prayer. I once asked Him to give you your heart’s desire, whether or not it included me. God also knows that I have always been out for your happiness and greater good, and I told Him I didn’t need to be the one who would protect your happiness. We’ve been through a great deal, and I knew in my heart the moment we were over that it might not be me that was made for you.

In the course of time, God also changed the desire of my heart. I stay single not because I’m so fond of the bachelor life (which you rightfully accused me of before) but because I finally understood how I must use the way I’m wired: for God’s glory. The joy of serving Him has made me blessed more than ever, and maybe someday He’ll change my desire and make me settle down, too.

But your time has come; your marriage to the one starts now.

I trust God that He is the center of your matrimony and His glory will be greater in such union. I am stoked for the blessings you will encounter! I know it would’ve been a different story with me. God has granted your desire and has given you joy more than you can ever handle. For that, I am grateful. I do not regret that we have crossed paths. I am grateful, and I am grateful that God is faithful in giving you His best for you.

Sincerely,

Your ex

Sing and sign your own thoughts here.

